Apparently, this was announced last week.  I didn’t know they had gone public, otherwise I’d have told you sooner:

Play Group is Ars Nova’s vibrant and eclectic group of emerging writers who gather twice a month at Ars Nova to share new work and get peer feedback. The group offers members the chance to develop their plays with peer support, form collaborative relationships and build a strong sense of community within Ars Nova. In addition, members receive dramaturgical support and artistic matchmaking advice from the Ars Nova artistic staff, priority consideration for Ars Nova’s reading series (Out Loud) and industry exposure through a culminating group production at Ars Nova. Members of Play Group ’09 will create a show to be presented in January 2010.

New members were selected after a competitive open application process and join for a two-year residency. The group is led by Director of Artistic Development, Emily Shooltz, who said: “The response to our call for applications was incredible, and the 2009 group represents a thrilling range of voices, styles and experience. Play Group is at the heart of our community of artists. It will be a privilege to have these writers here creating new work and inspiring one another this year.”

New Play Group members include Kristoffer Diaz, Zayd Dohrn, Tasha Gordon-Solmon, Amy Herzog, Samuel D. Hunter, Branden Jacobs-Jenkins, Matthew Lopez and Janine Nabers. They join second-year members: Annie Baker, Bekah Brunstetter, Dylan Dawson, Steven Levenson and Samuel Brett Williams. Full bios for the 2009 Play Group are included below.