Walking home the other night, I saw this:

Nothing unusual here, right?  A broken umbrella handle.

Nothing unusual here, right? A broken umbrella handle.

I take about 30 steps forward, and I see this:

At first, I thought this was the rest of the broken umbrella. But this umbrella, while broken and discarded, still has its handle.

At this point, I’m thinking that I might go back and take a picture of the two broken umbrellas, as it’s a pretty unusual sight to see.  Then I take about 80 steps forward (I went back and counted), and saw this:

Its a little difficult to see here, and I might have missed it entirely if I wasnt looking closely.

It's a little difficult to see here, and I might have missed it entirely if I wasn't looking closely.

Can you make that one out?  Here’s a closer view:

Its a little blurry, but you get the idea.  Its another handle.

It's a little blurry, but you get the idea. It's another handle.

At this point, I’ve gone back, taken photos, and am pretty satisfied with what I’ve discovered.  Then I see THIS:

FOUR!

FOUR!

And then:

This looks like a garbage bag, but its an umbrella.  I didnt check to see if it still had its handle.

This looks like a garbage bag, but it's an umbrella. I didn't check to see if it still had its handle.

I’m not sure if these fit into the Lonely Sock category, since there’s a sense of community here somehow.  I do know that this whole experience was kind of incredibly, impossibly sad and sort of bizarrely beautiful.

