Maybe more accurately: explain it to me, undecideds.

I watch the debates, and I see one candidate who (and let’s put aside “values” and “issues” for a second) is calm and measured, who answers questions placed before him by providing a logical context, then ennumerating step-by-step the plans he’d take towards solving the problems at hand, who speaks eloquently and specifically about the state of the world and the United States’ position within it.  On the other side, I see a man who comes off cranky and unsettled, who paces nervously while the other candidate is speaking, who tosses off snide comments as jokes (that immediately plummet to earth with a thud).

I don’t get it.

Yes, I know the issues are important.  Most people vote on the issues.  I vote on the issues.

But the difference here is clear.  The difference between Biden and Palin is clear.  This shouldn’t even be a race.

UPDATED: This is a long, very interesting take on the whole thing from an outsider perspective.  A lot of it actually makes sense to me–I need to spend some more time with it, of course, because I’m not sure I can wrap my mind around all the accusations just yet.  And I’m certainly going to try to spend some Ron Paul/Cynthia McKinney time here on these pages shortly.  But here’s the thing: listening to these two folks last night, there are obvious differences.  One candidate is more acceptable than the other.  It’s incremental change in the grand scheme of things, but it’s huge in the here and now.

